Book Title: Famine Trilogy 3 Books, Under the Hawthorn Tree, Wildflower Girl and Fields of Home

Details: Author: Conlon-McKenna, M

Reading Age: 9 - 10

Publisher: O'Brien Press


Number of pages: 0

Dimensions: 19.2 x 13 x 1.4 cm

Retail Price: €29.97

  • €25.00

Book Details

Three books about the Famine of 1840's and how it changed the lives of the O'driscoll family.

Ireland in the 1840s was in the grip of a terrible famine. When their father and mother go missing in a desperate search for food, the three O'Driscoll children, Eily, Michael, and Peggy, are left to fend for themselves. Starving and in danger of the dreaded workhouse, they escape. Their one hope is to find the great-aunts they have heard about in their mother's stories. With tremendous courage they set out on a journey that will test every reserve of strength, love, and loyalty they possess.

Worksheets available on request

Author Biography: Marita Conlon-McKenna is one of Ireland's most popular children's authors. Her other books include The Blue Horse, No Goodbye, Safe Harbour, and In Deep Dark Wood.

Books Ireland
As gripping a story as the original, embracing not just a sense of place-Ireland-but a sense of time and history . . . Not a word, spoken or unspoken, nor an emotion, is wasted."