Cart

Book Title: Dark Wood Dark Water

Details: Author: Callaghan, Tina

Reading Age: 13 +

Publisher: Poolbeg for Children

ISBN-13: 9781781997802

Number of pages: 416

Dimensions: 19.8 x 2.3 x 12.5 cm

Retail Price: €8.99

Quantity
  • €8.50

Book Details

Something is wrong with the town of Bailey. Something dark, something dangerous. Something evil.

Josh's brother has just drowned. He meets Kate and Gabe, who also have lost family to the river. When they seek the help of a local historian, Naylor, he tells them that there is a sinister longstanding pattern to such tragedies.

But some unknown force is trying to help Josh rid the town of its curse. Why is he dreaming of a ship s captain, a hooded monk, a dark familiar with a knife? What is being demanded of him?

Soon greater horrors than ever before are set loose. They are fighting against time, as evil has turned its baleful eye upon them.

Review

Dark Wood Dark Water is a young adult supernatural thriller set in modern Ireland, but inspired by the medieval history of the author's home town in Wexford. For fans of Stephen King's Salem's Lot, Michael Grant Hunger series, The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner.

'Dark Wood Dark Water is the sort of story Stephen King would have written if he'd grown up in Ireland -- a read-in-one-sitting, sleep-with-the-lights-on sort of book'.- Peadar +ô GuilÝn, author of The Call

'Chilling, atmospheric and with an effortlessly vivid sense of place, this novel sustains the intrigue from the first page to the last. A genuinely impressive debut from a storytelling talent to watch. And read.'-F.G. Cottam, author of The Colony

'A sublime fantasy horror grounded in dark and sinister local folklore.'- Ruth Frances Long author of the Dubh Linn series

'Moody atmospheric and entertaining tale.' --Joseph Delaney"

Twitter