Cart

Book Title: The Girl in Between

Details: Author: Carroll, Sarah

Reading Age: 13 +

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK

ISBN-13: 9781471160622

Number of pages: 256

Dimensions: 13 x 1.8 x 19.8 cm

Retail Price: €8.96

Quantity
  • €8.50

Book Details

I know the mill has a story cos there's something strange going on. I heard something. I've decided that I'm going to find out what it is later today when Ma leaves. Cos even if it is scary, we live here and we're never leaving. So if there's something going on, I need to know.

In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets. To the girl it's home, her safe place, the Castle. But as her ma spins out of control and the Authorities move ever closer, the girl finds herself trapped - stuck in the crumbling mill with only the ghosts of the past for company.

Can she move on before it's too late?

'Perfect for fans of David Almond and Katherine Rundell' - The Guardian
'A compelling and heart-breaking debut with an unexpecting twist, reminiscent of A Monster Calls' - Glamour magazine
'Pitch-perfect Dublin voice' - Irish Times
'The Girl in Between' grabbed me from the start and held on so tight it left bruises' - Geraldine McCaughrean
'In turns beautiful, devastating and ultimately uplifting, The Girl in Between demands re-reading' - Zana Fraillon, author of The Bone Sparrow
'Dark, sometimes profound, this is the kind of book that envelops readers in its world, sending them blinking into the light with the voice and images still ringing in their heads' LoveReading4Kids.co.uk
'A descriptive story that's intriguing, emotionally engaging ... with a twist at the end.' The Book Bag

About the Author

Sarah currently splits her time between a houseboat in Dublin and travel abroad.-áShe recently returned from five years in Tanzania where she founded and ran a hostel while working to support local community projects. She continues to promote ethical overseas volunteering through her blogs and films on www.theethicalvolunteer.com, while planning her next book."

Twitter