Book Title: The Book of Learning (Nine Lives Trilogy: 1)

Details: Author: Murray, E.R.

Reading Age: 11 - 13

Publisher: The Mercier Press Ltd

ISBN-13: 9781781173626

Number of pages: 320

Dimensions: 19.8 x 2.8 x 13.2 cm

Retail Price: €9.99

  • €9.50

Book Details

Book Description
After the death of her beloved grandfather on her twelfth birthday, Ebony Smart's world is turned upside down. Orphaned for a second time, she is sent to Dublin to live with her weird Aunt Ruby, with only her pet rat, Winston, for company. With every window nailed shut and a mysterious locked room, 23 Mercury Lane is brimming with secrets. Warned against entering by a voice in the shadows, Ebony is fearful for her future, but has no idea how much her life is about to change. Aunt Ruby informs Ebony that she is part of the Order of Nine Lives - a special tribe of people who reincarnate. She claims Ebony has one week to break a terrible curse or else die - and if she fails, the future of the Order of Nine Lives, and her family, is at risk. With so much at stake, Ebony discovers it's difficult to trust - especially when there's somebody else trying to race her to the finish. Does she have what it takes to succeed when nothing is what it seems?

About the Author

Based in West Cork Elizabeth Rose Murray has had poetry and short stories published in journals across the UK and Ireland, including 'Southword', 'South Circular', 'Esc' and '3am'. She has been shortlisted in the following competitions: Francis MacManus (Short Story), Penguin/RTE Guide (short story), Powers/Irish Times (flash fiction), Cara (flash fiction) and Aesthetica Creative Works (poetry)."